Shooting at Screening of The Dark Knight Rises

I guess the news is everywhere now – 14 people have been killed at a screening of The Dark Knight Rises in Denver, with many more wounded.

It’s an intensely upsetting story: of course it is, no-one should be scared of visiting the cinema, especially not kids. And I guess it’s even more upsetting because the film has been so wildly anticipated since, well, the release of The Dark Knight, and because Batman is a pop culture icon, and…

And because this sort of thing just shouldn’t happen, but it does, and that’s a brutal truth that I’m not convinced we should ever accept.

There are going to be articles and outcries about gun control, about media censorship, about the depiction of violence. Yet in all these, the victims are often forgotten and become nothing more than political and social talking points. In the aftermath of a tragedy, let’s try not to let that happen.

3 thoughts on “Shooting at Screening of The Dark Knight Rises

  1. ws141

    Look, the first thing I said was my heart goes out to the victims and their families.
    I made that crystal clear.
    It was the NRA supporters who started making this into a battle cry.
    Don’t forget THAT…

    Reply
    1. matthewhyde Post author

      That’s fine by me, I’m in the UK so the political outcry hasn’t got here yet. Not surprised the NRA have started already though…

      Reply
  2. Tui Snider (@mentalmosaic)

    Oddly enough, I saw a headline today that says gun sales have skyrocketed since the shooting. :/

    Thanks for stopping by my blog the other day!

    ~Tui
    p.s. I skipped your Dark Night Rises review because I haven’t seen it yet, but hope too soon. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

