All Blogged Out?

So here’s a question for my fellow bloggers – do you ever feel all blogged out?

I don’t mean Writer’s Block – that’s fairly normal, I think, and it’s something that has to be defeated to maintain your blogging sanity. I mean that feeling when you approach WordPress and realise that you’ve run out of things to say. It’s not that you couldn’t write anything – do this for long enough and you can probably muster up a post or two even when the muse is taking a city break somewhere – but that you can’t think of anything to write that you believe in. Or rather, it’s all been said before.

I feel a little like this at the moment. I’ve got a few posts lined up, but they’re reposts. I don’t apologise for this – I was pleased with them when I first wrote them, so I’m happy to give them another airing – but it’s not sustainable.

And so the question becomes whether or not blogs have a built in expiry date, forcing them to confront their mortality, Blade Runner style. Do they reach a natural conclusion, not because of time or ability, but because it’s just their time?

To be honest, I hope not. I love blogging. I just wish I had more to say at the moment – there’s nothing worse than boring your subscribers. Sure, my Bible Blog is still doing well (although that’s a key blogging question in itself – what’s better, general or niche?), but that doesn’t give the flexibility to talk about, say, Doctor Who or space exploration.

I’m not saying this is the end of Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth. I just ask these questions sometimes, and I figure that if I’m doing it, so are other denizens of the blogosphere. Maybe you’ve been here, maybe you’ve got some insight into it. Maybe you just think I should stop complaining and talk about comics more (I have sympathy with that view).

So have you ever been all blogged out?

 

6 thoughts on “All Blogged Out?

  1. wcs53

    Yeah, I went through a period there where I was all blogged out. I was posting only about two or three times a month. But recently I’ve felt more like blogging again. I mainly blog about books and reading these days, but I’m not confined to that. I think the reason I almost stopped was that I was tired of posting negative stuff, which is where my mind was at the time. My (recent) discovery of the world of book blogging reinvigorated my desire to blog, so now I am back to blogging almost every day and have made many online friends with similar reading interests. I also changed my template recently to reflect my renewed interest in blogging.

    Reply
    1. matthewhyde Post author

      I think it’s significant that you said that you got tired of blogging because of negativity – i think that can have an effect, because who wants to be negative all the time? There was a time when I didn’t blog for about a year, whereupon I rediscovered the hobby and my passion for it. I think it’s probably good to have a sabbatical every now and then…

      Reply
  2. Howlin' Mad Heather

    Absolutely, Matthew, and you hit the nail right on the head. You write and write and feel as if you’re pouring your heart out, and for what? I’ve been going through a phase like that recently. I wonder if I “shouldn’t” be spending more time on my actual book, or trying for another degree, or something other than blogging. It’s hard to say for sure. In the end I think it’s an individual choice, but I very much enjoy reading GSITE.

    Reply
    1. matthewhyde Post author

      Thank you 🙂 I wouldn’t have guessed you were going through a phase like that, as it doesn’t come across in your writing, but I know what you mean. If you’ve got time to spare on your book though, go for it – I promise to buy a copy!

      Reply
  3. TWWK

    Among anibloggers, there’s this theory about a 2-year-date. Based on a major blogger’s investigation of other aniblogs, he put for the idea that two years is about the threshold – if you get past that point, you’re like a “lifer.” The idea has become pretty well accepted among anibloggers.

    I know for me, there are points where I feel an end is imminent. I’m not sure when it’ll be (sometimes it feels sooner and sometimes latter), but I can see it in the distance somewhere. There’ll be a point where I feel I’ve run out of motivation, I’m not achieving the response I want, I’ve run out of things to say, or a combination of these points. So for me, I’m sure there’ll be an end, and when I see it clearly coming, I hope to move my blog in a direction that concludes it all, rather than just stepping away suddenly.

    Reply
    1. matthewhyde Post author

      Two years sounds about right, although it means I must be a lifer! I think blogging goes in peaks and troughs anyway. I like the idea of managing an end to a blog rather than just stopping – there’s something desolate and sad about blogs that were clearly started in a fit of enthusiasm then just wither on the vine, sadly hanging around cyberspace… I don’t think I’m at that point really, but it’s always better to conclude than stop.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

