It’s Not The Years, Baby…

I’m getting old. 

It’s been 18 years since Kurt Cobain died. 18 years. I was a sixth former at the time and remember the outpouring of grief and anger. I was only vaguely aware of him, and music as a whole, at the time, but I soon got caught up with all the stories and conspiracy theories – was it a suicide? Was his murder covered up? It became an iconic moment of my generation’s pop culture landscape.

And it was 18 years ago.

That’s not as bad as hearing an interview on Kerrang Radio. The band Bowling For Soup were talking about their teenage years and the fashions of the time, when the host said something like “So, was that what it was like in the 80s?”

Frankly, that was terrifying. The 1980s were last week as far as I’m concerned, but as far as that radio presenter was concerned, he may as well have been talking about the Roaring Twenties – “So was that what it was like when the flappers were around? Do you think women should have the vote?”

I remember the Berlin Wall falling. There are grown adults around now who don’t. It may as well have been the Palaeolithic era. I feel like that mammoth they dug up in Siberia recently.

And they’re rereleasing all the films I saw the first time around – Back to the Future and Ghostbusters I can just about handle, but Titanic?! I remember when Titanic was 2D, thank you very much. Yes, I remember when films were only in two dimensions, all of five years ago.

Here’s something that will freak out younger readers – I remember what it was like before the internet. I remember what it was like before home computers. Music used to be stored on shiny discs, and before that, on magnetic tape. We used to tape songs off the radio when the Top Twenty was announced on Sunday afternoons.

I’m aware that all this is making me sound like I’m claiming a pension and telling kids to get off my lawn. But I’m 35. That’s nothing. I’m not getting old, history’s speeding up. It’s probably a quantum thing, but it’s not fun.

 

PS. I also remember when we only had three TV channels…

 

12 thoughts on “It’s Not The Years, Baby…

      1. TWWK

        Oh man, I remember that at my first vacation bible school, they gave us flimsy vinyl record with kids songs on it. Oh, the (now) olden days…

      2. matthewhyde Post author

        Yeah, I remember vinyl… Can’t believe how many format changes there have been since I was a kid. It’s why I can’t face the idea of BluRay at the moment…

  1. Howlin' Mad Heather

    It’s weird to think kids about to graduate high school were born in the year *I* graduated from high school. And that Nirvana is now on the “oldies” rock weekends. Wherever does time go?

    Reply
  2. Deborah the Closet Monster

    Someone talked about not being able to use a mouse 17-18 years ago, and I laughed. I then stopped and went, “Wait, it just occurred to me that not everyone in the world was playing Facemaker on their dad’s computer at three.” Even at 33, I can’t remember a time without computers, but I clearly remember a time without internet. Sometimes I wish I could go back there.

    Reply
    1. matthewhyde Post author

      I remember the very early days of computer games – my dad had some kind of console that we played through the TV – I think it was a version of Pong… I was an internet sceptic when I first encountered it properly, now I can’t imagine life without it. I don’t know if that’s scary or not…

      Reply
  3. Pingback: P&Q’s Week In Review Part Deux! « Prawn And Quartered

Leave a Reply

