Taking Flight: My Friend’s New Comic

20120301-151226.jpg

I hadn’t realised that the comic industry was celebrating Creator Owned Day today. This is a big deal for a medium scarred by stories of how its founding fathers, like Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster, failed to see much in the way of renumeration for creating some of the most recognisable pop-culture icons of the 20th century. With the advent of the internet, and an increasing interest in comics created outside of the big companies, Creator Owned Day is a big deal, the principles behind it essential for the medium to continue and thrive.

This relates to some good news I heard today.

Scratch that; it was excellent news. For a good few years, my friend Sudge (or Stephen as the National Insurance people know him) has been working towards breaking into the comic industry. I’ve been fortunate enough to read some of his work and it’s good stuff – there’s one scene in one script that got me tearful – and I’ve been waiting to see his work in print for a while.

Well, the day is here!

Stephen and artist Gary McLaughlin have, through Laser Age Comics, published Taking Flight, “a superhero tale full of warmth and humanity”. It’s available to buy at that link, and I encourage you to check it out.

For my part, I’m overjoyed that my friend can now see something of his in print. He’s passionate about writing and comics, and he deserves every success. And I can’t wait to get my copy.

Of course, now all we have to do is get the Big Two to publish our Marvel meets DC story… 😉

 

One thought on “Taking Flight: My Friend’s New Comic

  1. Stephen

    Thanks Matt! I wouldnt be doing this without you, you’ve always been a great sounding board, collaborator (HULK SMASH GOLD AND BLUE MEN!) and friend.

    Hope you enjoy the comic! All black and white copies are limited edition signed copies, of course 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

