New Trailers for The Avengers and The Amazing Spider-Man

Well, new trailers have been released for The Avengers and The Amazing Spider-Man, and even though I’m a committed DC Comics fan, I’ve got to say that Marvel know what they’re doing when it comes to movies.

For a start, The Avengers looks great – full-on superhero carnage, with the likes of Iron Man, Thor and Captain America fighting their way through an army. It looks like being spectacular action married to funny one-liners as a bunch of Alpha Dogs vie for supremacy. That’s pretty much what you want from a film that brings together the foundational characters of a fictional universe. The only concern I have is that it looks like Robert Downey Junior could end up running away with the film; sure, he’s great as Tony Stark, but the other characters deserve some of the spotlight too. Here’s hoping that Chris Evans gets a few epic moments as Captain America – he’s meant to be both the leader and the moral centre of the mythos, he can’t just disappear into the background.

But hey, concerns aside, how can you not love the following exchange?

“I have an army!”
“We have a Hulk.”

Epic geek moment right there. Even if you think the Hulk is over-rated.

Then there’s The Amazing Spider-Man, a reboot of the movie franchise. Now starring British actor Andrew Garfield as Spidey, the new trailer puts to rest some concerns raised by the original teaser. It looks like it could be a fairly dark, emo film, but that’s always been a part of Spider-Man’s story – however, the trailer also delivers some good old-fashioned web-slinging and some trademark Spider-Man snarkiness. It’s looking pretty good, and Garfield actually looks like the Peter Parker from the comics, which always helps.

All of this leaves me in a quandry. Because my team is DC Comics, and while I’m sure The Dark Knight Rises is going to be epic and awesome, it’s not going to be as much fun. After all, the bad guy is Bane, and if you don’t know what he’s most famous for, well, check out his Wikipedia article. And although the new Superman film has a cast full of Oscar winners, again I’m not convinced it’s going to be laugh-a-minute. And so, while DC are currently pulling ahead in the realms of comic book innovation, Marvel still rule the movies. And you know what? It’s deserved. I just hope Supes and Bats can reassert themselves as the two iconic superheroes when their films are eventually released.

In the meantime? I’m going to be playing the Spot Stan Lee game and geeking out with the best of them.

 

5 thoughts on “New Trailers for The Avengers and The Amazing Spider-Man

  1. matthewhyde Post author

    There was going to be one a couple of years ago, directed by Joss Whedon, but it fell apart. DC really need to get their act together when it comes to characters who aren’t Superman and Batman (although their animated stuff tends to be better)…

    Reply
  2. Deborah the Closet Monster

    I haven’t seen the trailer yet, but I have startled a coworker with my response to his innocent question, “Are you gonna watch that, um, superhero movie coming up? With all the superheroes?”

    “You mean The Avengers, including such heroes as Thor and Iron Man, directed by Joss Whedon, who is incidentally the creator and oftentimes writer and director of only my favorite TV show ever?”

    ” . . . ”

    “I’d watch it even if it weren’t directed by Joss Whedon. But him? I was so excited to realize he was standing next to me at a comic book shop some years back, I actually started shaking.”

    There is exactly one person on this planet I’m still starstruck by. I don’t think I’d shake if I ever bumped into him again, but my admiration (and desire to enjoy all his artistic endeavors) remains strong. 😀

    Reply
    1. matthewhyde Post author

      Joss is great, but I would say that – Buffy is one of my favourite shows. I think putting him in charge of something like the Avengers was a great idea, because the guy’s a big geek who knows how to make that a strength.

      (The scene where Xander talks down Willow at the end of season 6 is one of my favourite portrayals of grace in pop culture. Same goes for the ‘magic snow’ scene in ‘Amends’…)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

