Seeking Some Blogging Advice

I’ve been blogging for a few years now, and while I’d like to say I’ve cracked the myriad secrets of the blogosphere, I haven’t. In fact, some days I can’t even remember how to type. It therefore goes without saying that sometimes I could use a little advice. Today is one of those days.

My problem is this – somewhere along the line I must have done something that impressed Google or Bing or Ask Jeeves* because my blog is getting a little more passing traffic than it used to. This is great, because let’s face it, we’re all here because a part of us wants an audience, but my problem seems to be getting people to stick around.

Now, this may be because this place simply isn’t what they want, like all those poor people who find themselves here looking for the lyrics to I Am The Music Man. I’ll also confess that I’ve ever so slightly been hit with the tl;dr stick. Even considering all this though, I’d still hope the blog has enough merit to make it worth coming back a couple of times.

So I guess that’s my question – how do you turn that passing traffic into something approximating an audience? Or is it best not to get caught up in that sort of thinking? All answers, suggestions and clicks of the Like button are welcome!

*People must still ask Jeeves, right? Right? I mean, I know I can remember when my favourite search engine was Alta Vista, but things can’t have changed that much can they?

2 thoughts on “Seeking Some Blogging Advice

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster

    The biggest thing I’ve done is commenting relentlessly on other folks’ posts. By doing that, folks have been drawn over to my blog and then decided to stay after a few visits.

    That worked really well for months, but now I’m accepting that I cannot keep up on so many blogs eternally. I have subscriptions divided between instant, daily and weekly delivery. Ideally, I’d read them all, but in the real world, I’ll probably read all my daily subscriptions and just as probably read very few of my weekly ones.

    That was the biggest thing for me. 🙂

    Reply
    1. matthewhyde Post author

      Yeah, I really need to engage with the wider blogosphere more. I’m trying to get a grasp on things but time seems to slip away so easily. You’re right about the commenting though, its a great way of getting to know people and engaging with what’s out there.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

