Versatile Blogger Award

Blogging can be hard work. Not in the same way that digging holes is hard work, but nevertheless, there’s a lot of effort involved – coming up with inspiration, turning that into something coherent, remembering how to spell words like ‘coherent’. Add to that the dark, crushing realisation that around half your readers are Russian spambots, and it’s amazing any blogs ever get written.

(The easiest way to help your favourite blogger to overcome this is to leave comments and hit the ‘Like’ button. Russian spambots don’t do that, at least not legibly.)

All which is just preamble to me passing on my thanks to Heather over at HeatherBlog for nominating me for a Versatile Blogger Award. It genuinely means a lot, especially as it comes from a better writer than me. It’s been a long time since I got nomimated for anything related to my writing (the last time was at High School – I misunderstood the comptetion’s submission guidance and so was forced to enter something I’d written out-of-spec, much to the disgust of my teacher. Of course, the Universal Law Of Irony meant that I was the only person in school who actually won anything).

However, a Versatile Blogger nomination carries with it responsibility. Firstly you have the opportunity to nominate some of your own favourite bloggers, which I’ll do in due course. Then you have to list seven interesting facts about yourself.

This is a lot easier if you actually have seven interesting facts:

1.  I can recite much of Transformers: The Movie off by heart. And when I say ‘can’, I mean ‘do’.

2.  Talking of movies, I cry at them, especially The Iron Giant and Finding Neverland. I also believe that Steve McQueen will one day make it over that fence in The Great Escape, despite mounting evidence to the contrary.

3.  My favourite city is Toronto. I promise to take my fiancee there one day.

4.  My favourite song is Thunder Road, but my favourite hymn is Be Thou My Vision.

5. I’m not a good driver.

6. My karaoke song is Born to Run.

7.  I almost quit this blog a couple of months ago because I didn’t think it would achieve critical mass. I’m glad I didn’t, and I guess that’s the moral of this post; don’t give up and never forget to give encouragement whenever you can. You never know when it’s really, really needed…

8 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award

    1. matthewhyde Post author

      Yeah, I’m going to keep blogging. I think I just went through a crisis of confidence a while back, but now I’m just going to blunder on regardless!

      Reply
  1. TWWK

    Congratulations! Iron Giant and Finding Neverland are both good picks as cryin’ movies. And I’m with ya on Steve McQueen in The Great Escape.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

