Aristides de Sousa Mendes – Follow Up Post

Following yesterday’s post, I received a comment from the Sousa Mendes Foundation. I figured more people would get to see it if I gave it a post of its own:

Sousa Mendes Foundation

There would be no "Curious George" without Aristides de Sousa Mendes. His creators Hans and Margret Rey were rescued by Sousa Mendes, and they were then able to publish the first Curious George book in New York in 1941.

There would be no art by Salvador Dali past 1940 without Aristides de Sousa Mendes as he too was saved by him.

And my father would have died at the age of 7. My family was rescued by Aristides de Sousa Mendes in 1940, and I therefore owe him a debt of gratitude for my entire life.

Recently I helped the Sousa Mendes family (his grandchildren) establish a foundation to raise money to create a museum and memorial to their grandfather and help perpetuate his memory.

The website is www.sousamendesfoundation.org and I urge everyone to go to the page called "How can I help?"

With deepest thanks,

2 thoughts on “Aristides de Sousa Mendes – Follow Up Post

  1. Anonymous

    Thank you
    Hi Matthew.
    Thanks for reposting my message from yesterday and helping to spread the word about the Foundation. The Sousa Mendes Museum, when it’s completed, will be the first Holocaust memorial in Portugal and will, by its existence, help to right a historical wrong. We are grateful for all donations big and small. Donations are easy, with a PayPal button right on the website (address above). Thank you from the bottom of my heart.
    Kind regards
    Olivia Mattis

    Reply

Leave a Reply

