Writer’s Block: Neat, sweet, groovy songs

The soundtrack to the original animated Transformers movie.

I don’t know if this counts or not, as I suspect a lot of this is rose-tinted glasses, and at least some of it is due to my semi-permanent second childhood, but although I know, intellectually, that there are better songs than The Touch by Stan Bush, none of them ever quite achieve the same level of awesomeness. It’s not even my favourite song (which is a tie between Springsteen’s Thunder Road and the hymn Be Thou My Vision), but it inspires the most Tigger-like reaction.

Let’s put it this way – I’ve been at a birthday party where the DJ played The Touch, and a room full of twenty-thirty-something men suddenly all punched the air and started singing. It was like some sort of Tourettes. Some of us (and by that I basically mean me) started quoting the film’s dialogue that fitted around the song. It was a fantastic moment! And also a bit geeky. But mostly fantastic!

I also attribute the fact that my musical tastes tend towards the rockier end of the spectrum to the drumbeats that start the metal cover of the Transformers theme that plays under the film’s end titles. Somewhere in my wardrobe I have a distressed denim jacket with ‘LION‘ stitched on the back. The dot on the top of the i is an Autobot logo.

Rock. On.

Leave a Reply

