Writer’s Block: Don’t fear the reaper

I’ve been partly responsible for someone else’s near death experience, does that count?

No, wait, put the phone down, there’s no point disturbing the police. It’s a bit of a long story, but the upshot of it is, a friend was trying to get me a date with a hot temp at work, and while talking to her, he steps into the path of an oncoming car. Now, I see this happening, and being a good friend I open my mouth to shout a warning…

But nothing comes out. I need to do something fast, something noble and honourable and heroic. But all I can think is "He’s a dead man!!!"

Anyway, the car stops in the nick of time and no-one dies, and karmically I didn’t get a date. I think that might also have been the year the same friend was getting stalked and as a result we started getting mysterious emails, but I might be wrong on that.

Other than that, I’ve had a couple of near misses in the car, but nothing that couldn’t be solved by banning everyone from driving other than me.

Oh, and apparently when I was born, I wasn’t meant to survive. In yo’ face, medical profession!

2 thoughts on “Writer’s Block: Don’t fear the reaper

  1. istheby

    yeah, I was born the runt of a pair of twins: luckily I wasn’t born in the middle ages or “the giver”s society, so I wasn’t immediately killed(/culled?).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

