Geek Confessional

In honour of the fact that I’ve spent time today learning how to write messages in binary (convert the letters to ASCII codes first), I’m going to use the medium of blogging to confess my geek sins. For they are great.

  • While I really rate Christopher Reeve’s portrayal of Superman, I can’t get too excited about the films around him. Some awesome moments (I love it when he first catches the helicopter), but the movie franchise is ripe for a clean break if it’s going to get anywhere in future.
  • I suspect Matt Smith may be on his way to being better than David Tennant. And I really liked Tennant.
  • I haven’t seen all of 2001: A Space Odyssey.
  • When someone asks "Barry or Wally?", I say "Jay."
  • While I think Terminator 2 is the best of the franchise, I’m not convinced it works within its own model of time travel. This makes me a little depressed.
  • I have no problem with the Ewoks.
  • Actually, I have less of a problem with the Ewoks than I do with Boba Fett, because at least the Ewoks did something.
  • And don’t give me that extended universe guff about Boba surviving. He was lame, he got pwned by a blind guy, then he got eaten. End of.
  • I nod with approval when The Big Bang Theory get their DC Comics references right.
  • I sold all my Star Wars toys. I regret it to this day.
  • I still find it difficult to watch Ironhide’s death in Transformers: The Movie.
  • I didn’t buy Blackest Night, I think Kyle and Guy are more interesting Green Lanterns than Hal, and if I wanted to watch a bunch of zombies killing sympathetic characters, I’d watch a Romero movie. So sue me.
  • Once upon a time, there was an Emperor who was told by conmen that he’d bought a beautiful new outfit that only clever people could see. Everyone complimented the Emperor on his new clothes, even though he was buck naked. Everyone, that is, apart from a young boy. The moral of the story? The Matrix trilogy sucks.
  • The only way you’ll get me watching something like Saw or Hostel is if the bad guy starts kidnapping billionaires… Such as Bruce Wayne.
  • I paid money to see Terminator 3.

There will be more, but frankly, I’ve done enough confessing for now. I want to know about the skeletons in YOUR geek closet…

4 thoughts on “Geek Confessional

  1. sudge

    I’ve never read The Hitchikers Guide to the Galaxy, nor do I want to.
    Ditto, The Hobbit
    I’ve never found princess Leia attractive, even in the gold bikini.
    I think all three spiderman films sucked.
    Superman Returns wasn’t half as bad as people thought, but Kevin Spacey was part of what was bad.
    I got REALLY wound up last night subtitling an episode of Smallville where the person who had it before me misspelled “Luthor” (They had Luther. WHAT THE HELL?)
    I don’t like Supergirl, generally.
    I have more. They’ll come to me.

    Reply
  2. Anonymous

    Shocking
    OK, now THIS is a great topic. However, I feel I’m a bit outclassed.
    1. I wish I hadn’t bothered reading LOTR.
    2. The films didn’t do much for me either.
    3. Of all the Star Trek series’, I watched Deep Space Nine more than any other. I do not know why.
    4. Despite the last (2 or 3) series’ being pretty chronic, I could probably quote my way through Red Dwarf.
    5. I once spent my pocket money to go and see Mortal Kombat: Annihation. It is, without a shadow of a doubt, the worst film in existence.
    6. The film we actually went to see was Titanic. It was sold out.
    7. The film I wanted to see instead was Sense and Sensibilty.
    8. I own the Matrix trilogy, and like all the films – even the last one.
    9. The only comIc I’ve ever bought is The Beano.
    10. The toy I most wanted as a child was a Thundercats sword. I never owned one. My best friend had one though, and I don’t think I’ve ever really forgiven him.
    Enough for now!
    Rich

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

    1. I’m not really then keen on Superman, I find him pretty boring.
    2. I’ve never seen all of Galaxy Quest.
    3. The only Star Trek stuff I’ve bothered to watch is the new film and the first half of First Contact.
    4. I’m not a fan of the Star Wars films, deal.
    5. I can use a computer really well, build one in my sleep, but know next to nothing about how they work.
    6. Sheldon Cooper annoys me, generally.
    7. I know all the words to the first (and only) Power Rangers movie.
    8. Homeward Bound 1 and 2 are in my DVD collection.
    9. I think 4400 was better than Heroes.
    10. I’ve never watched Dr. Who.
    David

    Reply

Leave a Reply

