Happy Birthday (to me)

So, I’m 33 today. I think I’m okay with that; I more or less got over the ‘getting older’ thing when I turned 30. Admittedly it raises questions of how much I’ve actually done with my life, given that the greatest achievements of at least two well-known people had been made by the time they were my age, but I refuse to compare myself with Alexander the Great and Jesus. That would be silly.

Of course, birthdays always make us think about what we want from the coming years. That’s where I always get stuck, because I just don’t know. I think I’m doing okay for myself – I have a decent job, a nice two-bedroom house full of books and comics, a car that gives me no trouble at all, a cool group of friends, and access to a global information resource that allows me to look up things like Schrodinger’s Cat and a sneezing panda. I don’t have to worry too much about money. Health-wise, well, I could stand to lose a few pounds, but the worst I have to face is an occassional migraine. Church is okay. I don’t live in a fascist dictatorship. They’re still making Doctor Who. Simon Cowell hasn’t quite gutted the cultural life of the United Kingdom, at least not just yet. Darth Murdoch and Dave the Sock Puppet won’t be taking over for a few months. Things are pretty good, all in all.

So, what do I want out of life? Not that this is a question I expect many people to be interested in, as it’s a bit emo and self-indulgent, but hey, this is my blog, and I promise to go back to talking about Batman ASAP.

I’d like to go back to Canada. I like Canada. I like the US too, of course, but Canada is friendly and polite – "Welcome to Canada!" they said to me, as I walked through Toronto Airport. This is in contrast to Newark Airport, where I thought I was going to end up in Guantanamo Bay, or at least cavity search by a big dude called Bubba, so yeah, Canada. Maybe Vancouver. Heck, I don’t even know what’s in Vancouver, apart from every planet ever seen on Stargate. I just need to go on holiday somewhere, get my new passport christened.

Hmm, okay, what else? Think geek culture…. Comic-Con! Sure, it’s already sold out, and it’s not about the comics any more, but it’s Geek Mecca. Oh, and talking of comics, I want to read something published – not just written, published – by my friend Sudge, cos he deserves it.

I want song lyrics to make sense. I say this because I’m aware Christmas is fast approaching, and therefore I’m going to have to listen to Chris DeBurgh being both blasphemous and scientifically illiterate in the same song. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, well, I’m not linking to it, sorry.

I want to get back into writing more. Sure, I do plenty of it at work, but that’s not the same. I’m just too lazy to do more recreational writing – there’s a reason sloth is one of the seven deadly sins. I need to get over that, it’s not good.

Church-wise, I wish I was a better speaker. I’ve lead quite a few groups now, and while it always looks fine on paper, I always think it gets short-circuited somewhere between my brain and my mouth. I suspect that’s mainly because my gifts are more based around writing than talking (that’s not arrogance, that’s just how my brain works). Good communication is an art though, and I’d like to learn more about it. Given that we’re talking in a religious context, I guess it could be that the church tends to see communication as part of a teaching model, although Rob Bell, in a recent interview, suggests we could learn something from storytellers and poets and stand-up comedians. Of course, there’s an argument against making communication simply a performance, but the Bible’s full of parables and performance art. I just think there’s something to look at here, something I’m interested in. Maybe it’s a potential project, I dunno.

I need to read more. There’s no way I’m going to hit fifty books by the end of December. This isn’t good. Reading is my way of staying interested in everything. Reading more is essential.

And I’ve really got to stress less. That or throw a chair at the next stress-bringer, thus dealing with the problem at source. One or the other.

(For an example of the above, see Terry Tate: Office Linebacker.)

I’m 33 today.

When I’m 34, I’d like to at least be blogging about a couple of the above in the past tense…

One thought on “Happy Birthday (to me)

Leave a Reply

