Historical Randomness #3 – How The Internet Saved Russia

1991 always strikes me as being way too early for the Internet (I only came into contact with email at university around 1996, although I was a bit of a late adopter among my peers – I have, of course, made up for it since), so it was fascinating to learn that the Net (specifically the Relcom network) was being used to get information to Yeltsin during the Russia coup of that year. It’s amazing what you can do with 56K and Finland.

(This also reminds me of how the eruption of Krakotoa in 1883 could be considered the first ‘modern’ news story, in that the new international telegraph network allowed information to be shared far more quickly than before. Everything old is new again…)

Leave a Reply

