Historical Randomness #1: The Carrington Event

Once again I’m getting out of the habit of updating, so I’m intending to use this page as a clearing house for miscellaneous stuff I stumble upon that I find interesting. Therefore I refer you to the Carrington Event of 1859, a solar storm that took out the global telegraph system, something that I’ve been interested in since various authors (including Neal Stephenson) likened its impact to that of the Internet.

And of course it’s worth reading Bruce Sterling’s Hacker Crackdown to discover how the first proto-hackers made life difficult for Alexander Graham Bell…

2 thoughts on “Historical Randomness #1: The Carrington Event

  1. novak

    I read some of The Hacker Crackdown because of this entry, and it’s fascinating. Time-consuming, but fascinating.

    Reply
    1. matthewhyde Post author

      It’s an interesting book. It draws a couple of historical parallels that I didn’t know about, as well as highlighting a connection between role-playing games and the hacker underground – geek culture is even more incestuous than I thought!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

