A Comeback Blog to Celebrate Teh Awesome

Inspired by Sudge’s blog, which you should read because it’s more sensible than this is going to be, I decided to return to this site to celebrate a few of the cooler things in life (this is based on my definition of cool, of  course, which is at right angles to everyone else’s). So here goes…

1. OBSCURE KNOWLEDGE
I love obscure knowledge. Stumbling across random factlets and theories and quirks of history is one of life’s little joys. I can’t explain exactly how, but my life is richer for knowing that the maximum number of moves it would take God to complete a  Rubik’s Cube is 26, or that the 1815 eruption of Mount Tambora may have lead to the invention of the bicycle, or that ketsueki-gata must be a nightmare for Japanese vampires.  I love this stuff. Send examples!

2. PODCASTS
The Relevant Magazine Podcast is the reason I can’t hear Snow Patrol’s ‘Chasing Cars’ without shouting “I’ve finally learned the true meaning of Christmas!” in a bad Scottish accent (here, just over halfway through. Listen out for Callahan McIver.) I love Hometown Tales and its quirky stories about obscure backwaters, and the Mars Hill podcast has helped with more church projects than they’ll ever know. Podcasting = Probably my favourite expression of Web 2.0.

3. THE NEW PRESIDENT IS A GEEK
He was born on Krypton and he collects Spider-Man comics. That’s automatically more fun than any British politician.

4. MY PRINCESS BRIDE T-SHIRT
Can apparel get any cooler?

5. MIDDLEMAN
Maybe apparel can’t, but TV can. It’s like the 60’s Batman meets Due South.

In a blatant steal of the idea I gave Sudge, I’m going to post more in the next couple of days to force me to update more. Cunning like a fox, dude.

One thought on “A Comeback Blog to Celebrate Teh Awesome

Leave a Reply

