Happy (Belated) Birthday To Me…

I turned 30 on Monday. It’s funny, I’d convinced myself that I’d notice it more, that the world would look different, that a switch would flip in my head that activated my Grown Up Gene. Needless to say, that hasn’t happened. That may be partly due to the fact that I had a Dalek birthday cake. It has a soundchip. It says ‘exterminate’. That is fundamentally cool.

(I also got a goat and a school desk via the Oxfam Unwrapped initiative, which is equally cool.)

Of course, 30 is a milestone, and it makes you ask yourself what you’ve done with your life. I’m not sure how to answer that question. I’ve got a decent job, no real problems there. I’ve got no real major health or financial problems, I’m not yet going bald. Things aren’t too bad.

Only I had a sucky weekend – had to fix a leak at home, which doesn’t sound much, but it always makes me realise how impractical I am and thus reminds me that I miss my dad, and then I found myself in a stupid confrontation over something completely ridiculous which put a dampner on things. And that’s not the best backdrop to your 30th. I don’t have a girlfriend, I can’t afford a house, I still get turned round on Wolverhampton ring road…

I have a feeling I’m going to end up thinking a lot about my life in the next few weeks.

30, huh? That’s grown up.

But I’m still 21 in my brain.

5 thoughts on “Happy (Belated) Birthday To Me…

  1. novak

    I had the same experience, spending the day walking around the high school where I was teaching and saying to myself, “Whatever I thought 30 was, this isn’t it.” I’ve come to learn that everyone seems to top out at around 25 in their heads. Being back in a university settng, I find it very difficult to remember this at times. In class the other day, I aluded to a lyric from U2’s Achtung Baby and then realized that most of my students (mostly freshmen taking Intro to Theology) were 4 years old when it came out. I don’t envy you the head trip of the post-30 “thinking about your life.” Bring wine.
    I know no Doctor Who but I can appreciate the innate coolness of the cake. The goat took me a second.

    Reply
    1. matthewhyde Post author

      Yeah, I think 25 is effectively a baseline for most people – certainly a few friends who’ve also passed the 30 mark have said something similar. And even when you realise that all your pop culture references are out-dated, you don’t care because the stuff you like is better than most of the new-fangled nonsense kids today seem to love.
      Or am I REALLY getting old? 🙂
      And the goat is cool, just not as cool as the cake…

      Reply
  2. andy_dickens


    eah i agree with the post above. ok so i’m 5 years younger than you, but its really freaky when i go to see bands and there are these kids who weren’t out of nappies the day that said bands debut album came out (which i brought upon the day of purchase). It makes you realise i guess that it is you that changes and not neccesarily the world. Well thats wrong, but i guess you kinda evolve together.
    it’s like your birthday comes, and you expect something dramatic to happen and it doesn’t. I guess it comes down to our own ideal and stupid self importance.
    And following on from that deeply thoughtful ramble, i’m off to get ready to go to london to see sick of it all and madball!!

    Reply
    1. matthewhyde Post author

      Re: …
      Yeah, we expect a big change at the pivotal moments of our lives and forget the fact that we’re constantly evolving. And like you, I can’t get my head around the fact that kids like the stuff we’re into. Doctor Who’s massive among kids now – I remember when it was a joke…
      Things change and we change with them, we just don’t realise we change…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

