There Were Some Things Men Were Not Meant To Know…

Just got time to sit down and write a quick update. It’s been a busy day, and I won’t go into details, but let’s just say that turf is heavier than it looks.

Anyway, I’ve had a vaguely Fortean moment this week. I go into Brierley Hill library, and they’ve got a booksale on. Now, I’m a book geek. Can’t walk past a second hand book sale without throwing money at people. So I go in, and I pick up Discipleship by David Watson, All The President’s Men by Woodward and Bernstein, and a book on the Spanish Flu of 1918, which killed somewhere between 20 and 50 million people. So far, so good.

The vaguely Fortean moment came the day after, when it was announced that scientists have resurrected the Spanish Flu. “Yep,” they probably said, “That’s a mutated version of avian flu alright!” They may have been throwing the test tubes to one another at the time – that may sound insanely stupid, but so does resurrecting a disease that killed more people than World War I.

Of course, having a copy of the disease could help if the current road of bird flu mutates to attack humans, and that’s cool. But this does not make me feel any better. Why?

BECAUSE I’VE READ THE STAND!

If anybody wants me, I’ll be in the sealed bunker with plenty of canned goods and my Buffy DVD’s…

 

Leave a Reply

